Hubby and I were watching the movie Date Night the other day.  It’s a hilarious comedy with Steve Carroll and Tina Fey.  At the end of the movie, the main characters, a husband and wife, discuss if they’d ever wanted “out” of their marriage or been tempted to stray.  The wife, Tina Fey’s character, shared that the only secret temptation she’d ever to just escape by herself… check in to a hotel by herself and just be alone.   Let me tell you, I laughed out loud because I can relate.

I wasn’t able to put my finger on it until I heard Tina say the words but I instantly thought, “THAT’S IT!”  That’s exactly my idea of a perfect escape… sometimes.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my life.  I love being a wife, mother, teacher, house cleaner, laundry person, chef, errand person, taxi, dish washer, boo-boo kisser, nurse, argument solver, etc. etc.  I do… I really DO. 

But there are always those days that pop up… those speed-bumps or detours in the road of an otherwise perfect week or month.  You know what I’m talking about.  Those are usually the days you could find me hiding in the bathroom, playing Sudoku on my phone just to get a few moments by myself.  Now don’t even try and pretend you haven’t done the same thing now… the game you play on your phone might be different but that’s about it! 

Hubby asked if I ever secretly dreamed of the same form of escape as Tina’s character.  While I downplayed my whole-hearted agreement with Tina, I did answer truthfully.  And while I didn’t actually say out loud that a surprise weekend at a local hotel by myself would be the best gift he could ever give me, I may or may not of secretly thought it. 

What about you?  What’s your idea of a perfect escape?  Most of the time, I know we’d all pick a getaway with our hubbies.  But if you could get away solo, what would you want to do? 

AClawfootTub.jpg A Clawfoot Tub image by davedave200Me?  I’d pack a suitcase so full of books, I’d struggle to drag/push/shove it into my hotel room.  I’d take a nice long soak in the tub, pull my hair back, put on a comfy new pair of jammies, brew some coffee and break out the snacks.  I would never step foot out of my room the whole time if I could help it. I’d just rotate between reading through my suitcase full of books and watching movies on tv…

… and wondering what Hubby and the kids were doing…

… and missing them desperately.

No wonder my poor husband can’t figure me out.

