Although I’ve only been bloggin myself for about a month (hey! It’s been a month!! Happy month-of-a-blog to me!), I’ve been reading them for quite awhile.  Long enough to realize that we women like to talk about our hair.  We like to vent when it’s bad, chatter about it when it’s good and show it off when it’s great.  So here’s a post about my hair… and be warned, it’s not chatter and I’m not showing it off…

As a little background, I’m currently a faux red-haired lass.  But I’ve been wanting to get back to my el natural color of dark blond (or light brown, depending on how you look at it) and so several weeks back I had discussed it with my stylist.  She’d given me tips on how to do it myself (that I’ll share tomorrow for my WFMW)) since she’s cool like the fact that I have no money.  So a few weeks ago I took the plunge and dyed it dark.  Wow, did it look dark at first!  But after a few washings it lightened up and was fine.  I went to see my sisters for our annual weekend together, we took pictures and all of a sudden I realize I’m totally red again!  I have no idea when it happened. I was seriously oblivious to it (which should be my first clue that I don’t spend enough time on my hair. Or that the lighting in my bathroom is B.A.D.!).  So last week, I decided to dye it again, right before my appointment to get my hair trimmed.  I’d had to reschedule my appointment a few times and so I was overdue for this cut by a few weeks. 

Soooo (I apologize, that was a LOT of background!), I dye it the night before my appointment last week.  It was dark but I was prepared for that.  The next morning, I just pulled it up into a little twist thingie and went about my day.  I didn’t think twice about it until I sat down in my stylist’s chair a few hours later and she unclipped my hair.  Oh. My. Goodness. Gracious. Great. Balls. O. Fire.  MY HAIR WAS GREEN!  I was horrified, mortified, jaw-dropified.  You name it, I was -ified!

How did we fix the situation? Well, let’s just say that my little hair trim turned into at least 2 inches off.  That cut off most of the green.  What little bit was left washed out within the next two days.   Although Hubby likes to inform me when I hit just the right lighting that there’s still a green tint. Thanks Hubby.  That’s why I keep you around.  Keep me humble.

Lesson learned?  You betcha!  But you’ll have to check in tomorrow for my Works For Me Wednesday to find out what exactly I did wrong and what the CORRECT way to properly dye your hair at home is.  Please people, learn from my mistakes!

And I apologize for the poor Dr. Seuss imitation title…

