A couple days ago the kids and I headed outside to have a picnic lunch in the yard.  The weather was beautiful!  One of those days when you can’t help but notice how perfect the temperature is and the birds are singing, the breeze blowing gently, the hummingbirds flying in and hanging out, sippin out of your glass of delicious lemonade.  Okay maybe not the hummingbird part.  Last I checked I wasn’t a hummingbird whisperer… but I’ll be sure to tell you when I’ve perfected the ability. 

So we headed out with lunch in hand and as the kids munched I read the next few chapters out of Laura Ingalls, “On The Banks Of Plum Creek”.  Man do I love those books.  Pretty soon, the boys started dispersing to various outside activities and Poppett followed as soon as I took a reading break.  Next thing I know, I’m getting really drowsy… maybe those hummingbirds’ wing vibrations were lulling me to sleep. I don’t know but I couldn’t fight it.  I dosed.  It was delightful.  I was still awake enough to hear what was going with the kids (it’s a mom talent, perfected after several years of use) but asleep enough to completely relax and forget about some major things.

Things like sunscreen. 

Yep, you guessed it.  I totally fried the back of my legs while relax-sleeping on my stomach.  I had my upper body in the shade (I at least had the presence of mind to keep my face out of the sun, sheesh!) and my pearly white legs hanging out in the sun.  I really don’t know what possessed me.  I really don’t.  Did the butterflies fly off with my brain cells?  I mean, ME of all people, know how blindingly white my legs are and how just two minutes in the sun would turn them pink.  I won’t even tell you how long I was out there like that.  It’s just too humiliating.  

(I’m the same color as her suit…)

This cardinal sin resulted in another cardinal sin (at least for me)… I went out in public wearing sweat pants.  Sweats just are not flattering on me.  Too “blessed” in the booty department or something.  I just am never comfortable enough to step outside the safety of my home with them on.  But that day, I had no choice.  My legs hurt so bad I really wanted to walk around naked.  Actually, less (or is it more?) than naked because even being naked would allow things like the couch to come in contact with my sizzling skin.  But alas, Poppett and I had ortho appts and I thought I might frighten all those pre and pubescent boys and horrify their mothers if I showed up wearing only my snow-white, dimple-ridden birthday suit – with the lobster-red stripes in the back.  So I reluctantly, and very gingerly, slid into a pair of sweats and headed out. 

Moral of the story? Don’t let the beautiful weather fairies rob you of your better judgement. 

Or run like the wind for shade if you start to feel drowsy.  

Or just take two minutes before you head out and slap some sunscreen on.

