It’s gonna be MINE!  I’m a little late in joining in on the torture fun.  But better late than never, right?  Anyway, Jen, over at Daily Mish Mash decided that she needed some company as she whips her bod back into shape.  And I’m a sucker for company.  Especially adult company.  And goodness knows, I could do with a little less jiggling in my thighs, a higher fanny (is it just that my waist has crept up over the last few years leaving my fanny further below?!), and arms that don’t demand attention with their incessant waving. 

You know what I’m talking about! Don’t pretend you don’t.  You can’t live in the good ol’ how-overweight-r-U-SA and not know. 

But I’m changing.  And like Jen says, why wait until the New Year?  I’m ready to start now, get in shape (yes, that means exercise **groan** ), look fabulous for the Holidays and our annual family picture (that this will be first one we actually get done.  I MEAN it this year!)

I don’t know if I’m going to share photos yet… I’m a little to chicken I think.  But I will take them and my current measurements.  But you might not get ’em until the end. 

So I can distract you with the better photos and measurements of the new and improved me.

I’m not too chicken for that.

Jen asked:

What is your favorite type of exercise? bench pressing ding-dongs, triathalons (eating sweets, eating salty, eating whatever strikes my fancy)… JUST KIDDING!  I actually really like to walk. Especially as the weather cools and the evenings begin to be calm and breezy.  Except that doesn’t usually work with my schedule of feeding, bathing and putting four kids to bed.  SOOO, my darling sweet Hubby bought me an Eliptical exercies machine and it’s not bad.  Not the fresh air I crave but it’s better than sitting on the couch eating bon-bons. (I miss them already! sniff, sniff)

How often do you work out? Since I’ve only just begun (instead of starting a week ago), I haven’t.  But I’m starting out at 20 minutes a day, every day.  Then I’ll go to 30.  I have to do it daily because otherwise the habit doesn’t develop and I just end up forgetting more than doing.

How do you find the time and motivation to keep up with it? Having the Eliptical in the familyroom, staring at me, sending me guilty vibes when I’m thinking of eating something sweet or past 7pm helps a lot.  Evening time is “my” time.  After the kids are in bed and all is quiet.  I try to get on right at 8pm, as soon as the last kiddo is tucked in and I can turn on the tv to distract me.  Course, I have to turn it up loud in order to hear it above my wheezing and groaning.  If I wait until later I usually lose my momentum and can’t pull myself off the couch.  And like I said in my previous answer, doing it daily keeps it in my brain enough that I usually won’t forget.   One of my favorite shows is Biggest Loser.  And I’ve found I enjoy doing sit-ups, push ups, etc. during the commercials. ‘Cuz if those folks can do it for HOURS every day then I can spare 20 minutes.

Now you’ll have to excuse me.  Tonight is trash night and I have a kitchen of sweets to toss.  Have to do it tonight so that I don’t have time to change my mind, go back and dig out anything.

