This week I’d thought I’d gained a little.  I just felt it.  Even though I actually exercised three times! Yahoo!  I could have rewarded myself with the Coldstone icecream reward that I’d set up for myself but – now hold on to your seats everyone – I only had three teeney tiny tastes.  I was sharing with Lil Blue and that’s about all he would allow with me, the ice cream nazi that he is.  But I was amazed that I really was fine with it.  Anyway, I when I weighed today, I’d lost another pound and a half! WOW! I’m so excited!  I just wish I could see it… or rather, I wish I could see the empty space where it used to be. 

I did manage to get through three days without cokes.  That’s a big deal for me.  For me, if I had to choose between a big ol dish of ice cream (complete with whatever toppings you wanted) or a nice cold Cherry Coke complete with pebble ice, I’d pick the Coke 9 times out of 10.

A semi-win for me that happened this week came in the form of a steakhouse.  Hubby and I went with some new friends to have dinner at a local steakhouse.  Usually, I’d be all over a nice chunk of previously moo-ing piece o’ meat.  Like white on rice… that’s me on steak.  USUALLY.  But that day?  I calmly muttered through clenched teeth while sweat started to pucker up along my hairline ordered the SALMON!  Now, I’d like to say that I also ordered a nice side of fresh steamed veggies but I have to confess, I ordered the loaded baked potato.  Second confession about this meal?  While it was delish and I really didn’t miss my steak, I ordered it because the day before I had visited my orthodontist and had my braces worked on.  So I couldn’t have eaten the steak if my life depended on it (which is often how I feel about my consumption of steak… my life depends on me getting it into my belly).  Hence the reason for the potato and not the veggies.  I couldn’t eat those either.  And you may not believe me but I really would have preferred the veggies this time.  I would have felt so healthy eating them with my salmon.  I would have stood on my chair at the arrival of my plate, had Hubby whistle his eardrum-piercing shriek of a whistle, and announced the fact that I, surrounded by all you steak-eating, artery-clogging, I’d-like-a-slab-o-butter-on-the-side-please, UNHEALTHY cow-eaters, am eating fish and veggies and will live to be 327 years old!  But alas, I couldn’t.  I couldn’t have the veggies.  Plus, it would have been totally dishonest because on any given day it would have been ME devoring the plate-sized slab of steak with the side of butter and a heart attack.  I do love butter.

This week’s goal?  To again have a coke every other day and work out four times.  My reward?  A movie night with a couple of girlfriends this weekend.  Well, that was already on the books but if it’s my reward, then I can also participate in all the delightful snacky goodness we’ll have going on.  Particpate in a controlled way that hopefully won’t undo my coke rationing and tens thousands of minutes on the eliptical!  We’ll see.

Check out the Daily Mish Mash for more folks who are probably working much harder than me at Looking Fine By 2009 and shocking the cranberry sauce outta their relatives at Christmas Dinner!

