I’m sorry I haven’t posted in awhile.  I’m here.  I promise.  Hubby’s been on vacation so we’ve been busy hanging out as a family, doing all kinds of fun, festive activities.  Decorating, sleeping, playing board games, sleeping, drinking marshmallow-loaded hot chocolate, sleeping, playing in the rain, sleeping, visiting theme parks, sleeping, checking out Christmas lights, sleeping… you get the idea.  It’s been delightful.  Today we tackle sugar cookies!  I’ll do a post about those in a minute. 

First, I’d like to bring a very special prayer request to you, my beloved readers reader.  =0)

3117438812_07aaf73092_o

Mark and Angie were in our circle of friends during college.  I’m sad to say we’d lost contact over the last few years due to the busyness of life.  Last weekend, Mark was in a horrific dirt bike crash that has left with many, many injuries, the worst of which being damage to his brain stem.  To say his outlook is grim, by human standards,  would be an understatement.  You can read all about his situation by clicking on his banner above. 

Yesterday was Mark and Angie’s 10 year anniversary.  Gulp!  I can’t even begin to imagine what being in Angie’s situation, on my anniversary no less, would have been like.  Angie and family members organized a fast for Mark yesterday and asked anyone who could, to jump on board.  It was a great privilege to participate in joining together and lifting Mark high before the throne of Christ.  As I prayed, I could just see him, his hospital bed pushed right up against Jesus’ feet. 

A hint at the character of Mark and Angie?  For their 10 year anniversary they’d planned a service project.  Did you hear that?  A SERVICE project!  Not a trip to the Bahamas **cough, cough** (guilty of that one…although I ended up pregnant and due at the time of said anniversary so the trip was never taken), or a beach getaway, or even a weekend IN with the kids sent off to the Grandparents.  Nope.  A service project.  They chose to celebrate their 10 years of married life by working together to help someone else out.  If that doesn’t speak volumes about Mark and Angie, I don’t know what does.

And Angie didn’t back down from those plans.  You know what this amazing woman did?  This wife and mother of a 6 year old, who was going through about the biggest trial a wife could go through, chose to celebrate their anniversary the way Mark had planned:  she put others first.  She put together baskets of gift certificates from restaurants and such that were local to the hospital and gave them to the other families of ICU patients. 

I am humbled.  Completely humbled by such an act. 

All this to say… please help pray for Mark and Angie and their 6 year old son, Nolan.

