I don’t know about you, but I’m tired.  Is that really a good way to start the new year?  Bleary-eyed, groggy, day-long bed-head… sucking off a coffee pot all day.  I mean, I love hanging out with friends, grazing for 7 hours straight, playing games and chatting up a storm (after the kids have been bedded down) but when I have to be up at 6am New Years Day, I start to seriously consider swearing off all New Year’s Eves as my new year resolution. 

I’m starting to feel a little better though, after my 8th cup of coffee and 3rd helping of Monkey Bread.  Man that stuff is addicting.  And that’s why we restrict it to New Year’s Day breakfasts only.  It’s a treat.  It’s a celebration.  It’s special.  And it’s also the reason why I have to get up at 6am the first day of every year instead of snoozing in until 7.   It’s worth it.  I don’t feel that way at 6am but by 7am, when I’m stuffing my face with Monkey Bread, I’m singing the praises of alarm clocks and early morning baking. 

Since my brain is going to be fuzzy all day today (despite the gargantuan amounts of coffee I will ingest over the next 12 hours), I’ve decided to finish this post off with puppy pictures.  

I don’t know about you, but when I hear “New Year”, I think “puppy pictures”.  Doesn’t everybody? 

Besides, she sooo cute.

One glance into her big baby eyes will clear the cloud of sleepy gloom from around your noggin’.

lucy-1-email

In the interest of keeping her cuteness and adorability intact, I will refrain from sharing the scene that greeted me last night when I ran home to check on her and let her out mid-way through our all-night revelries.   Let me just say, I wanted to shower when I was done.  And I would have, had there not been Guitar Hero Band going on in my absence at the party.  That stuff is good… blackmail good. 

lucy-2-email

This is Lucy’s sleepy look.  She tries real hard to keep those peepers open but gravity wins.

lucy-3-email

Her first chore, as a new member of the Runningamuck family, is to keep the windows clean.  And that’s no easy task let me tell you.  I was happy to finally be able to pass off the responsibility.  A girl has to lick ’em all down at least 3 times a day to keep up.  And Lucy is proving herself very capable.

lucy-4-email

But all that licking wears her out.   This is how she lets me know her saliva’s all dried up and she won’t work under these conditions. 

lucy-8-email

And then Lil Blue decides he won’t work under those conditions either and they both lay down on the job.  Then the grime piles up, the dishes don’t get done, the laundry sits, wrinkling, in the dryer, and the grass grows 10 feet tall outside.  Just kidding, we have gardeners to mow for us.  Lil Blue doesn’t edge very well.

See?!  Don’t you feel a little less, tired?  

I do.

At least until I have to take Lucy outside to potty again.   

I’m here to testify that she has the teeniest bladder on the face of the planet. 

Course, after all this coffee, I may be needing to go just as frequently as she does.  So I guess I’d better stop pointing fingers at her and start worrying about my own bladder.

Happy New Year!!

